Upcoming Events: Rising Stars!

No comments yet

Categories: Current Event



We are please to announce the winners of Raleigh Symphony’s Concerto Competition! This year’s  winners are:

Emmaline Pedigo, piano performing Haydn’s Concerto in D Major

Helen Kim, flute performing Nielsen’s Flute Concerto

Sarah Mitchener, flute performing Gordeli’s Concerto for Flute


Emmaline Pedigo
Emmaline Pedigo is a 17 year old homeschool student in her junior year. She is the daughter of Rev. and Mrs. Douglas Pedigo; Douglas serves as the Music Minster of Aversboro Road Baptist Church in Garner. Emmaline is actively involved in the church’s student ministry, serving on the leadership team, and is lead guitarist on the student praise band; she is also involved in the adult Drama team, adult praise bands, and the Cantata choir. She is currently a student of Dr. Karen Allred, and in her 12 years of study has won several competition awards including two Composition competitions, in both the Tennessee and North Caroline State Teacher’s Associations. Upon graduation from high school she plans to pursue a degree in music with a concentration in piano performance.

UNCSA Flutes. 12/17/14



Haeun(Helen) Kim was born and raised in South Korea. After she moved to U. S. when she was 16 years old, she won several competitions and auditions include Carolina Band Festival, Dallas Symphony Festival, and Raleigh Area Flute Association Competitions. Ms. Kim participated as a principal flute player in Fayetteville Korean Orchestra and Fayetteville International Youth Symphony. Ms. Kim has played solo with Carolina Philharmonic in 2013. She also had masterclass with Arlan Dorough and Sarah Busman. Ms. Kim is currently pursuing Bachelor of Music degree at University of North Carolina School of the Arts under teaching by Tadeu Coelho.


 UNCSA Flutes. 12/17/14Sarah Mitchener, flute

Born and raised in Memphis, Tennessee, Sarah Mitchener is in her first year majoring in flute performance at the University of North Carolina School of the Arts, studying with Dr. Tadeu Coelho. She graduated from Arlington High School in May of 2014. In 2013, Ms. Mitchener was the winner of the Memphis Beethoven Club Young Artists solo competition. She was also the winner of the 2012 MidSouth Flute Festival High School Soloist competition. A participant of multiple orchestras in the Memphis area, Ms. Mitchener was the principal of the Balmoral Chamber Orchestra and active participant of the Memphis Repertory Orchestra, and she even soloed with the Balmoral Chamber Orchestra. She was accepted into the National Flute Association High School Flute choir in both 2012 and 2013. Ms. Mitchener remains musically busy in the summers through participation in music festivals such as the Boston University Tanglewood Institute and the Sewanee Summer Music Festival. She has also attended masterclasses and flute institutes with world-renowned teachers Michel Debost and Trevor Wye.